

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Division of Marketing and Development

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA FARM WINERY CERTIFICATION

Section 599.004, Florida Statutes Phone (850) 617-7399

July 1, 20 through June 30, 20

Remit Non-Refundable Application Fee Online at: www.FDACS.gov

- or -

Check or Money Order payable to FDACS and remit to:

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services P.O. Box 6700 Tallahassee, Florida 32314-6700

	hereby state that the following information is true and				
accurate. Winery Conta					
Name of Winery:		Winery Phor	ne:		
Winery Address:			Florida		
Street		City	State	Zip	
Fax Number:	E-m	nail:			
1. Produces or s	sells gallons of w	ine annually.			
2. At least product	% of the wine produce	d is made from Fl	orida agricultural		
3. Maintains	acres of owned or man	naged land in Flor	ida, dedicated to wine	production.	
4. Is open to the	e public for tours, tasting, and sa	les hou	rs each week.		
5. Has	_ Florida Farm Winery logo(s),	emblem(s) and dir	ection sign(s) in place.		
licensing fee of \$10.00 for check for the total amount	ents for certification. The application application of the certification application application.	, emblem and dire		Please include a	
Date:					
SUBSCRIBED AND SWO	ORN TO BEFORE ME F, 20				

599.004 Florida Farm Winery Program; registration; logo; fees.--

- (1) The Florida Farm Winery Program is established within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Under this program, a winery may qualify as a tourist attraction only if it is registered with and certified by the Department as a Florida Farm Winery. A winery may not claim to be certified unless it has received written approval from the department.
- (a) To qualify as a certified Florida Farm Winery, a winery shall meet the following standards:
- 1. Produce or sell less than 250,000 gallons of wine annually, of which 60% of the wine produced is made from Florida agriculture products.
- 2. Maintain a minimum of 5 acres of owned or managed land in Florida, which produces commodities used in the production of wine.
- 3. Be open to the public for tours, tastings, and sales at least 30 hours each week.
- 4. Make annual application to the department for recognition as a Florida Farm Winery, on forms provided by the Department.
- 5. Pay an annual application and registration fee of \$100.
- (b) To maintain certification and recognition as a Florida Farm Winery, a winery must comply with the qualifications provided in this section. The Commissioner of Agriculture is authorized to officially recognize a certified Florida Farm Winery as a state tourist attraction.
- (2)(a) The department, in coordination with the Viticulture Advisory Council, shall develop and designate by rule a Florida Farm Winery logo, emblem, and directional sign to guide the public to certified Florida Farm Winery tourist attractions. The logo and emblem of certified Florida Farm Winery signs shall be uniform.
- (b) Upon the request of a certified Florida Farm Winery, the Department of Transportation shall acquire and place Florida Farm Winery logo, emblem, and directional signs on the rights-of-way of interstate highways and primary and secondary roads. All costs for placing each sign shall be paid by the certified Florida Farm Winery requesting the sign. However, the cost of placing a sign shall not exceed \$250 and the annual permit fee shall not exceed \$50.
- (c) Each certified Florida Farm Winery shall pay to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services a licensing fee of \$10 each year for each Florida Farm Winery logo, emblem, and directional sign in place.
- (3) All fees collected, except as otherwise provided by this section, shall be deposited into the Viticulture Trust Fund and used to develop consumer information on the native characteristics and proper use of wines.

Florida's Certified Farm Winery Program, 599.004 F.S.

Document Checklist for Certification

Therefore, be it resolved that it is necessary to enforce the statutory provisions of 599.004 F.S., Florida Farm Winery Program, and that documentation is required annually by the Department of Agriculture verifying qualification as a Florida Farm Winery.

Current Verifying Documents for Farm Winery Certification include but are not limited to:

1. a. Property deed(s) or tax documents for 5 acres of Florida land owned with agricultural product to be used for winemaking by the winery;

 \mathbf{Or}

- b. Management contract(s) and other data for 5 acres of Florida land managed with agricultural product to be used for winemaking by the winery.
- **2.** Photographs of the product being grown on property managed or owned to be used in winemaking by the winery.

Current photographs of the required 5 acres; Photographs must have a current date displayed; Do not send the same photos from previous year;

3. Photographs of signage showing the hours the winery is open and identifying location of said signage.

Current Photographs with current date displayed; Do not send the same photos from previous year

- **4.** Map with address and directions to property
- **5.** Other such documents the Department of Agriculture deems necessary to determine the winery complies with the requirements of the Florida Farm Winery Program to be certified and registered.