
Application For

CLASS “K”
FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR

LICENSE

06/2023

P
LE

A
S

E
 D

E
TA

C
H

 A
P

P
LI

C
AT

IO
N

 A
N

D
 M

A
IL

 T
O

 T
H

E
 A

D
D

R
E

S
S

 P
R

O
V

ID
E

D
.



TO PREVENT UNNECESSARY DELAYS IN THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION, ANSWER ALL 
QUESTIONS AND SUBMIT ANY DOCUMENTATION NECESSARY TO SUPPORT YOUR ELIGIBILITY.

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS FOR LICENSES
ISSUED PURSUANT TO CHAPTER 493, FLORIDA STATUTES

MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS
Section 493.6105, Florida Statutes (F.S.), in conjunction with Section 119.071(5)(a)2, F.S., mandates that the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing, obtain social security numbers from 
applicants. Applicant social security numbers are maintained and used by the Division of Licensing for identification 
purposes, to prevent misidentification, and to facilitate the approval process by the division. The Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing, will not disclose an applicant’s social security number 
without consent of the applicant to anyone outside of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division 
of Licensing, or as required by law. [See Chapter 119, F.S., 15 U.S.C. ss. 1681 et seq., 15 U.S.C. ss. 6801 et seq., 
18 U.S.C. ss. 2721 et seq., Pub. L. No. 107-56 (USA Patriot Act of 2001), and Presidential Executive Order 13224.]

SECTION I	 APPLICANT INFORMATION

•	 Must be at least 18 years of age.
•	 Must be a United States citizen or deemed a permanent legal resident alien by the Department of Homeland 

Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).
•	 Must provide current residence and mailing address (if different). A P.O. Box is not a residence address.
•	 Must provide valid email address.

SECTION II	 MILITARY HISTORY

If you have ever been court-martialed, fined, or disciplined under the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ) or 
service regulations, you must provide a complete and accurate account of this matter on a separate sheet of paper and 
provide copies of all official military documents related to the incident(s).
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SECTION III	 CRIMINAL HISTORY

The department will deny your application if you:
•	 are currently serving a suspended sentence on a felony charge or are on probation for a felony charge.
•	 have been convicted of a felony in any state, or of a crime against the United States which is designated as a felony, 

or convicted of an offense in any other state, territory, or country punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 
1 year, unless and until civil rights and firearm rights have been restored by the State of Florida or by a state 
acceptable to Florida, and a period of 10 years has passed since final release from supervision. Proof of restoration 
of civil rights and firearm rights must be submitted with this application.
1.	 If the felony conviction occurred within the State of Florida, your civil rights and firearm rights must be restored 

by the Florida Office of Executive Clemency. Questions regarding the procedure for applying for restoration of 
civil rights or restoration of firearm rights should be addressed to The Office of Executive Clemency; Florida 
Commission on Offender Review; 4070 Esplanade Way; Tallahassee, FL 32399-2450, Toll Free 1-800-435-
8286; Phone (850) 488-2952. 

2.	 Felony convictions occurring in another state require restoration of civil and firearm rights by the state in which 
the conviction occurred.

3.	 If you were convicted of a felony under federal law, you must have a presidential pardon or have been granted 
federal relief from disabilities.

•	 are younger than 24 years of age and have committed a delinquent act in any state, territory, or country which would 
be a felony if committed by an adult and punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.

The department may deny your application if you:
•	 in connection with either a crime of violence or a directly related crime: (1) have been found guilty of such crime; (2) 

have been convicted of such crime; OR, (3) have entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to such crime regardless 
of adjudication. A directly related crime includes, but is not limited to: trespassing, breaking and entering, burglary, 
robbery, forgery, criminal mischief or theft, assault, battery, stalking, aggravated battery, aggravated assault, sexual 
battery, kidnapping, armed robbery, murder, aggravated stalking, resisting an officer with or without violence.

•	 have demonstrated a lack of good moral character.
•	 have an outstanding warrant or capias.
•	 are currently in a pre-trial intervention or deferred prosecution program.

You must provide complete information about your arrest(s) and include certified copies of court dispositions. 
A determination of your eligibility cannot be made until all documentation is received and a complete criminal 
history record check has been completed. This process takes 1-3 months. 



SECTION VIII	 CITIZENSHIP

You must be EITHER a U.S. citizen OR a permanent legal resident alien in order to qualify for a Class “K” license. 
•	 If you are not a U.S. Citizen, you must submit documentation issued by the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. 

Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) confirming your status as permanent legal resident. A COPY of the 
front and back of USCIS form I-551 is sufficient. 
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SECTION IV	 ALIAS INFORMATION

If you are known by any other name, be sure to include it in this section. This includes nicknames, married names, 
maiden names, a legal name change, alias names, fictitious names, etc.

SECTION V	 PERSONAL HISTORY

a.	 If you have ever been adjudicated incapacitated (determined by the court to be incapable of taking care of yourself), 
you must provide a copy of the court document restoring your capacity, and proof that you have been granted relief 
from federal firearms disabilities.

b.	 If you have ever been involuntarily placed in a treatment facility for the mentally ill under Chapter 394, 
F.S., or similar laws of another state, you must provide a copy of the court document restoring your competency, and 
proof that you have been granted relief from federal firearms disabilities.

c.	 If you have ever been diagnosed with an incapacitating mental illness, you must provide a statement from a 
psychologist or psychiatrist licensed in Florida certifying that you are not currently suffering from a mental illness 
that precludes you from performing regulated duties as a firearms instructor.

d.	 If you have a history of controlled substance abuse, you must provide evidence of successful completion of a 
substance abuse rehabilitation course and a letter from your course sponsor establishing that you are not currently 
abusing any controlled substance.

e.	 If you: (1) chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired; 
or, (2) have ever been committed by a court to an alcohol rehabilitation course; or, (3) have ever been deemed by 
a court to be a habitual offender; or, (4) have had two or more convictions for driving under the influence within 
three years prior to your submitting your application, you must provide evidence of successful completion of an 
alcohol rehabilitation course and a letter from your course sponsor establishing that you are not currently abusing 
any alcoholic beverages.

SECTION VI	 TRAINING/EXPERIENCE

•	 In order to qualify for the Class “K” license, you must submit a copy of one of the following with your application:
1.	 The Florida Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission Instructor Certificate and written confirmation 

by the commission that you possess an active firearms certification.*
2.	 The National Rifle Association Private Security Firearm Instructor Certificate issued not more than 3 years 

before submission of this application.*
3.	 A firearms instructor certificate issued by a federal law enforcement agency issued not more than 3 years 

before submission of this application.*
4.	 A valid DD Form 214 indicating honorable discharge and service of no less than 3 years in the military as a 

firearms instructor not more than 3 years before submission of this application, as provided in s.493.6105(6)
(a)4, Florida Statutes.

*Note: A copy of one of the aforementioned certificates will satisfy the training requirement. Documentation reflecting 
that you have taken the training required to obtain one of the certificates listed above is not acceptable.

•	 You must also successfully complete the Firearms Instructor’s examination administered by the Division of Licensing.

SECTION VII	 EXEMPTION FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE

Section 119.071, F.S., excludes from public disclosure specified information such as home addresses, telephone 
numbers, and photographs pertaining to certain individuals. To determine whether you qualify for an exemption, read 
the complete text of the law on line at http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/. IF YOU QUALIFY FOR EXEMPTION, answer 
this question to specify whether you want the statutorily exempt information to be kept from public disclosure. If you do 
NOT qualify for the exemption, leave it blank.

SECTION IX	 PERSONAL INQUIRY WAIVER AND VERIFICATION

Review the information contained in this section, and sign and date the application. Failure to provide required 
information and sign and date this section will be considered an omission from application requirements and may result 
in a delay of your application’s processing.

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0100-0199/0119/Sections/0119.071.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes
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GENERAL INFORMATION

•	 An applicant or licensee is ineligible to reapply for the same class of license for a minimum period of one year 
following final agency action of denial or revocation of a license. However, this time restriction shall not apply to 
administrative denials where the basis was either of the following:
1.	 An inadvertent error or omission on the application or failure to submit required fees; or,
2.	 The department was unable to complete the criminal background investigation due to insufficient information 

from the Department of Law Enforcement, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, or any other applicable law 
enforcement agency. 

•	 The Class “K” license expires three years after date of issuance. To renew the Class “K” license, in addition to 
the required fee and passport-type color photograph, the Class “K” licensee must submit one of the certificates 
specified under s. 493.6105(6), F.S. as proof that he or she remains certified to provide firearms instruction.

Please detach and submit your application to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of 
Licensing, Regional Office nearest you - or mail it to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of 
Licensing, Post Office Box 5767, Tallahassee, Florida 32314-5767.

INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WITH YOUR APPLICATION 
	 A QUALIFYING CERTIFICATE AS SPECIFIED IN SECTION 493.6105(6), F.S. (See Section VI for details.)
	 DOCUMENTATION CONFIRMING YOUR STATUS AS LEGAL RESIDENT ALIEN (If you are not a U.S. Citizen.)
	 COLOR PHOTOGRAPH (Refer to Photograph Specifications on following page.)
	 FINGERPRINT SUBMISSION (Refer to Fingerprint Submission Instructions on following page.)
	 FEES (paid by check or money order made payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.) Fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable.
Application Fee:*	 $50
License Fee:	 $100
Examination Fee:**	 **$50
Fingerprint Processing Fee:***	 $42
Fingerprint Retention Fee:***	 $16.75
TOTAL FEES REQUIRED	 $258.75

*The initial application fee for a veteran, as defined in s. 1.01, the spouse or surviving spouse of such veteran, a member 
of the United States Armed Forces who has served on active duty, or the spouse or surviving spouse of such member 
who at the time of death was serving on active duty and died within the 2 years preceding the initial application, shall be 
waived. Please include a copy your (or your spouse’s) DD214.

**You may include the $50 examination fee with your application or you may opt to pay the examination fee when you 
take the exam.

***If you are also applying for another class of license under Chapter 493, F.S., at this time, submit only one set of 
fingerprints and a single fingerprint-processing and retention fee. If you have submitted a set of fingerprints and a 
fingerprint-processing and retention fee for a license under Chapter 493 within the past six months, no fingerprint 
submission or fingerprint-processing or retention fee is necessary at this time.



SEX RACE EYE COLOR HAIR COLOR
M = Male
F  = Female

W	 =	 White	 A	 =	 Asian or Oriental
B	 =	 Black	 U	 =	 Other or Unknown
I	 =	 American Indian

 or Alaskan Native

BLK	 = Black	 GRY	 = Gray
BLU	 = Blue	 GRN	 = Green
BRO	= Brown	 HAZ	 = Hazel

BLK	 = Black	 WHI	 = White
BRO	 = Brown	 BAL	 = Bald
GRY	 = Gray 	 BLN	 = Blonde
RED	 = Red

FS493_FP_PHOTO INSTRUCTIONS 03/2020

*	If you wear one of the listed articles of clothing or head wear daily for religious purposes, please provide the division with 
a written statement of that fact.

PHOTOGRAPH SPECIFICATIONS

Your photograph must be:
¾¾ In color, non-retouched.
¾¾ Printed on matte or glossy photo quality paper.
¾¾ 2 x 2 inches (51 x 51 mm) in size.
¾¾ Sized such that the head is between 1 inch and 1 3/8 inches (between 25 and 35 mm)

from the bottom of the chin to the top of the head. 
¾¾ Taken within the last 6 months to reflect your current appearance.
¾¾ Taken in front of a plain white or off-white background.
¾¾ Taken in full-face view directly facing the camera.
¾¾ With a neutral facial expression and both eyes open.
¾¾ Taken in clothing that you normally wear daily:

»» Uniforms, clothing that looks like a uniform, and camouflage attire should not be worn in photos except in the case of religious attire 
that is worn daily.*

»» You may only wear a hat or head covering if you wear it daily for religious purposes. Your full face must be visible and your head 
covering cannot obscure your hairline or cast shadows on your face.*

»» Headphones, wireless hands-free devices or similar items are not acceptable in your photo.
»» If you normally wear prescription glasses, a hearing device or similar articles, they may be worn for your photo.  Glare on glasses 

is not acceptable in your photo.
»» Dark glasses or non-prescription glasses with tinted lenses are not acceptable unless you need them for medical reasons (a 

medical certificate may be required).

FINGERPRINT SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS

You must submit a complete and legible set of fingerprints either on the FINGERPRINT CARD enclosed with this application package or 
by ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINT-SCAN.  Your fingerprints can be taken at a participating law enforcement agency, by your employer, or 
by any business providing fingerprinting services.
FOR INFORMATION REGARDING ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINT-SCAN, visit our web page http://mylicensesite.com.
IF SUBMITTING YOUR PRINTS ON THE ENCLOSED CARD, read and follow these instructions carefully:

¾¾ Fingers should be washed and dried thoroughly prior to prints being taken.
¾¾ Fingerprints must be rolled using black printer’s ink.
¾¾ The information you provide on the card MUST BE TYPED or PRINTED IN BLACK INK.  However, please note that some spaces at 

the top of the fingerprint card should be left blank.
¾¾ DO NOT SIGN the fingerprint card until you are in the presence of the person who will take your fingerprints.  Your signature and the 

name on your application and fingerprint card should match.
1.	 NAM – Full name in following order LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE. Initials are not acceptable. If you have no middle name, enter NMN 

for MIDDLE. 
2.	 RESIDENCE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED – Your RESIDENCE address.
3.	 EMPLOYER AND ADDRESS – If you are currently employed, provide the name of your employer.
4.	 ALIASES AKA – If you are known, or have been known, by any other name (nickname, married name, maiden name, alias, 

fictitious name, etc.), list those name(s) here. Include with your application copies of any legal documents that reflect a change 
of name (marriage certificates, divorce decrees, court affidavits effecting a legal name change, etc.).  NOTE: Failure to provide 
a list of your other names or to furnish documentation pertaining to a legal name change will result in delays in the processing of 
your application.

5.	 CITIZENSHIP CTZ – Enter the country of which you are a citizen (U.S., Cuba, Canada, etc.)
6.	 ARMED FORCES NO. MNU – Enter your military service number if you have one.
7.	 SOCIAL SECURITY NO. SOC – Sections 493.6105, 493.6304, and 493.6406, Florida Statutes, in conjunction with section 

119.071(5)(a) 2, Florida Statutes, mandates that the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing 
obtain social security numbers from applicants. Applicant social security numbers are maintained and used by the Division of 
Licensing for identification purposes, to prevent misidentification, and to facilitate the approval process by the Division.

8.	 HGT (height) – Use feet and inches (example: for 5’11” enter 511)
9.	 DATE OF BIRTH DOB (mmddyy); PLACE OF BIRTH POB, WGT (weight) – Enter required information.
10.	 You are not required to complete YOUR NO. OCA or FBI NO. FBI or MISCELLANEOUS NO. MNU.
11.	 SEX, RACE, EYES, and HAIR - FBI codes are shown below.  Use appropriate code for each required area on the card.

Your fingerprint card will not be processed if: (1) the required information is not contained within the designated blocks; (2) a highlighter is 
used; (3) the card has been folded, creased, or damaged.

http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/


 
Examination Requirements for the Private Investigator/Private Investigator Manager and Firearms Instructor Licenses 

 
WHO IS REQUIRED TO TAKE AN EXAM, AND WHAT WILL THE EXAM COVER? 
• Applicants for the following licenses must pass an examination to qualify for licensure: 

o Class “C” private investigator license. 
o Class “M” investigative and security agency manager license.  
o Class “MA” private investigative agency manager license. 

The private investigator examination covers those parts of Florida law that deal directly with the business practices of the private 
investigative industry and the legal responsibilities of the individuals and agencies that work in that industry (Sections 493.6100 through 
493.6203, and Section 493.6301(5), Florida Statutes).  

o Class “K” firearms instructor license.  
The firearms instructor examination is based on material in the Firearms Training Manual (Instructor’s Guide and Student Handbook and 
Study Guide). 

Applicants preparing for their examination can access copies of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, the Private Investigator Handbook, and the 
Firearms Training Manual (Instructor’s Guide and Student Handbook and Study Guide) online at: http://www.mylicensesite.com/. 

 
IS ANYONE EXEMPT FROM THE EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT?  
• You are exempt from the examination requirement if you: 

o currently hold a valid Class “CC,” “C,” “M,” or “MA” license.   
o previously held a Class “C,” “CC,” “M,” or “MA” license PROVIDED THAT the license has not been invalid/expired for more than one 

year. 
 
WHERE CAN I TAKE THE EXAM? 
• The examination will be administered BY APPOINTMENT ONLY with Prometric Inc., a third-party testing company, at one of their testing 

center locations or online. Prometric Inc. has numerous facilities across the state and the nation. Individuals can contact our Public Inquiry 
Center at (850) 245-5300 to pre-register for the examination. 

• Once you have been pre-registered you will receive an email from registrations@isoqualitytesting.com with instructions on how to schedule 
your exam. Should you require assistance, you can click on the "Contact Us" Tab on the Iso-Quality Testing, Inc. home page 
(www.isoqualitytesting.com) and send a message to customer service, or you may call (toll-free in USA and Canada) 1-866-773-1114, or (other 
countries) +1 727-733-1110.  
 

WHEN MUST I TAKE THE EXAM? 
• If you are applying for the “C,” “M,” or “MA” license, you must pass the exam BEFORE APPLYING FOR LICENSURE and submit proof of 

having passed the exam with your application. If you submit your application to the division without such proof, we will send you a letter 
requesting that you send us this documentation. If you do not provide proof of having passed the exam within the timeframe specified in the 
letter, the division will have no alternative but to recommend denial of your application. 

• If you are applying for the “K” license, you must be approved to take the exam AFTER APPLYING FOR LICENSURE and submit proof of 
having passed the exam to the Division of Licensing. If you do not provide proof of having passed the exam within the timeframe specified in 
the letter, the division will have no alternative but to recommend denial of your application.  

 
IS THERE A FEE FOR TAKING THE EXAM? 
• Examination fees are paid directly to Prometric Inc., at the time of registration and scheduling your appointment.   

o The fee for taking the Private Investigator/Private Investigator Manager Exam is $63.  
o The fee for taking the Firearms Instructor Exam is $69.  
 

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO COMPLETE THE EXAM? 
• You should be able to finish the exam in 1 ½ to 2 hours. Your exam results will be provided to you from Prometric Inc..  
 
WHAT DO I NEED TO BRING WITH ME WHEN I TAKE THE EXAM? 
• One form of state- or federal-issued identification which bears your picture and signature: driver’s license, state identification card, passport. 

YOU MUST BE PREPARED TO SHOW PROPER I.D.  Student and employment I.D. cards are not acceptable. 
 
IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE I NEED TO KNOW BEFORE I TAKE THE EXAM? 
• All examination requirements will be provided to you from Prometric Inc. after you have scheduled your appointment.  
 
Please be aware that if you take the exam and fail to pass it, you will be required to pay the fee again to re-take the exam. 
 
 

mailto:registrations@isoqualitytesting.com
http://www.isoqualitytesting.com/


BEFORE YOU BEGIN, read the Application Instructions. TYPE or PRINT using black ink. To help avoid unnecessary 
delay in the processing of your application, be sure to answer all questions and submit any necessary documentation.

SECTION I	 APPLICANT INFORMATION

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
APPLICATION FOR 

CLASS “K” FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR LICENSE
Chapter 493, Florida Statutes

Rule 5N-1.100, Florida Administrative Code
Post Office Box 5767sTallahassee, FL 32314-5767s(850) 245-5691

mylicensesite.com

If you are not a United States citizen, 
you must also provide your 8- or 9-
digit Alien Registration Number.

LAST NAME	 FIRST NAME	 MI 

CITY	 STATE	 ZIP CODE	 +4

-

RESIDENCE ADDRESS (A P.O. BOX IS NOT A RESIDENCE ADDRESS) 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	 ALIEN REGISTRATION NUMBER	

SEE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS A

RESIDENCE ADDRESS CONTINUED (SUITE, BUILDING, APT., ETC)

CITY	 STATE	 ZIP CODE	 +4

-

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE

MAILING ADDRESS CONTINUED (SUITE, BUILDING, APT., ETC)

PLACE OF BIRTH (Include the CITY --- STATE OR PROVINCE --- AND COUNTRY)

HOME PHONE NUMBER (Numbers only; no dashes or parentheses.)	 WORK PHONE NUMBER (Numbers only; no dashes or parentheses.)

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Must provide valid email address) 

KPDF01FDACS-16020 Rev. 06/2023
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FOR DIVISION OF LICENSING USE ONLY TYPE OR PRINT USING BLACK INK 

PLACE LETTER/NUMBER INSIDE EACH BOX AS SHOWN.

S M I T H 1 2 3

SEX	 RACE	 EYE COLOR	 HAIR COLOR	 DATE OF BIRTH (MMDDYYYY)	 WEIGHT	 HEIGHT

LBS FT IN

WILTON SIMPSON
COMMISSIONER
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SECTION III	 CRIMINAL HISTORY

a.	 Are you currently on parole or probation or in a deferred prosecution program, a pre-trial 
intervention program, or another similar program; or are you currently serving another form 
of state or federal supervision?
If YES, provide a certified copy of the court disposition for the relevant case(s).

b.	 Have you ever been convicted of, or had adjudication withheld on, a misdemeanor or 
felony?  (Do not include non-criminal traffic violations.)
If YES, in the space provided below, provide complete and accurate information regarding 
each arrest AND provide a certified copy of the court disposition for each case.

ARREST DATE	 	 CHARGE(S)	

COUNTY	 	 	 	

STATE	 	 	 DISPOSITION	

	 	

ARREST DATE	 	 CHARGE(S)	

COUNTY	 	 	 	

STATE	 	 	 DISPOSITION	

	 	
Use additional sheet of paper if necessary. Falsification of information provided or failure to provide 
certified copies of court dispositions may result in the denial of your application.

c.	 If you are younger than 24 years of age, have you committed a delinquent act in any 
state, territory, or country which would be a felony if committed by an adult and which is 
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year?
If YES, provide a certified copy of the court disposition for the relevant case(s).

 YES NO

 YES NO

SECTION II	 MILITARY HISTORY

a.	 Are you an honorably discharged United States veteran, as defined in Section 1.01, Florida 
Statutes?

b.	 Have you ever been fined, disciplined, or court-martialed under the Uniform Code of Military 
Justice or other service regulation?
If YES, provide a complete and accurate account of this matter on a separate sheet of 
paper and provide copies of all official military documents related to the incident(s).

 YES NO

SECTION IV	 ALIAS INFORMATION

Have you ever been known by a name other than the name on page one of this application? 
(Includes maiden names, married names, fictitious names, legal name changes, etc.)
If YES, in the space provided below, provide complete and accurate information regarding 
each name. Use additional sheet of paper if necessary.

NAME	 	 NAME	

NAME	 	 NAME	

 YES NO

 YES NO

SECTION V	 PERSONAL HISTORY

a.	 Have you ever been adjudicated incapacitated under Chapter 744, F.S., or similar law of 
another state?
If YES, include with your application a copy of the court document restoring your capacity, 
and proof that you have been granted relief from federal firearm disabilities.

FDACS-16020 Rev. 06/2023
Page 3 of 5

 YES NO

 YES NO



SECTION VI	 TRAINING/EXPERIENCE

a.	 Do you possess one of the qualifying certificates outlined under Section 493.6105(6), F.S.?
If YES, include with your application a copy of your certificate.
If NO, your application for licensure may be denied.

b.	 Have you taken and passed the Firearms Instructor Examination?
If YES, include with your application proof that you have passed the examination. 
NOTE: You are not required to submit proof that you have passed the examination with 
your application. Alternatively, you may wait to schedule an appointment to take the exam 
at one of the division’s regional offices after you have received written notification from the 
division that your application for licensure has been approved.

c.	 Are you requesting credit for relevant military training or education that is substantially 
similar to that required for this license as provided in Rule 5N-1.119, Florida Administrative 
Code?
If YES, include your DD214 with your application.

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

FDACS-16020 Rev. 06/2023
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SECTION V	 PERSONAL HISTORY continued

b.	 Have you ever been involuntarily placed in a treatment facility for the mentally ill under 
Chapter 394, F.S., or similar law of another state?
If YES, include with your application a copy of the court document restoring your competency, 
and proof that you have been granted relief from federal firearm disabilities. 

c.	 Have you ever been diagnosed with an incapacitating mental illness?
If YES, include with your application a statement from a psychiatrist or psychologist licensed 
in Florida certifying that you are not currently suffering from an incapacitating mental illness 
that precludes you from performing the duties of a firearms instructor.

d.	 Have you been committed for controlled substance abuse?
If YES, include with your application evidence of successful completion of a substance 
abuse rehabilitation course and a letter from your sponsor in the course establishing that 
you are not currently abusing any controlled substance.

e.	 Do you currently, or have you ever, abused alcoholic beverages?
If YES, include with your application evidence of successful completion of an alcohol abuse 
rehabilitation course and a letter from your course sponsor establishing that you are not 
currently abusing any alcoholic beverages.

SECTION VII	 EXEMPTION FROM PUBLIC RECORD DISCLOSURE

I have read the instructions for Section VII. I hereby state that I qualify for exemption under 
Chapter 119, Florida Statutes, and want to keep the specified information exempt from public 
record disclosure. Leave blank if not applicable.

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

 YES NO

SECTION VIII	 CITIZENSHIP

a.	 Have you ever renounced (relinquished) U. S. citizenship?
If YES, you are not eligible for licensure.

b.	 Are you a citizen of the United States?  If YES, proceed to Section IX.
If NO, you must answer question (c) below.

c.	 Are you deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by the United States Citizenship and 
Immigration Services (USCIS)?
If YES, proceed to Section IX.  NOTE: You must submit a clear and legible copy of the 
documentation issued to you by the USCIS.
If you are not a lawful permanent resident alien, you are not eligible for licensure. 

 YES NO



FDACS-16020 Rev. 06/2023
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SECTION IX	 PERSONAL INQUIRY WAIVER AND VERIFICATION
THIS APPLICATION IS EXECUTED UNDER OATH. FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY PART OR ANY 
DOCUMENT SUBJECTS THE APPLICANT TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION UNDER SECTION 837.06, FLORIDA STATUTES

I understand that the Division of Licensing will conduct any investigation deemed necessary to ensure that 
I have met all statutory requirements for licensure. I understand that inquiry shall be made regarding my 
criminal history and that additional investigation may include my school records, employment history, financial 
records, any history of controlled substance or alcohol abuse, and my mental capacity.

I hereby waive any provision of law forbidding any school official, court, police agency, employer, firm or 
person from disclosing to the division any knowledge or information concerning me, and I give permission for 
such entity to disclose any information and to provide any record requested concerning me to the division.

The information contained in this application and all attachments I have submitted are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge. I understand that falsification of any information or documentation submitted with this 
application may be grounds for denial or revocation of the license.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the forgoing application and that the facts stated in it are 
true.

	 	 	
Signature of Applicant	 Date Signed





 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Important Information for Applicants Submitting Fingerprints Where Criminal Record Results Will 
Become Part of the Statewide Automated Biometric Identification System 

 
This memo includes information concerning the following topics: 

• Sharing of Criminal History Record Information with the Division of Licensing 
• Retention of Fingerprints 
• Privacy Policy 
• Right to Challenge an Incorrect Criminal History Record 

 
This notice is to inform you that when you submit a set of fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law 
Enforcement (FDLE) for the purpose of conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history 
records that may pertain to you, the results of that search will be returned to the Florida Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing. 
 
By submitting fingerprints, you are authorizing the dissemination of any state and national criminal 
history record that may pertain to you to the Division of Licensing, from which you are seeking approval 
to be licensed to work within the private investigation, private security, or recovery industries pursuant to 
Chapter 493, Florida Statutes. The fingerprints submitted will be retained by FDLE, and the Division of 
Licensing will be notified if FDLE receives information indicating that you have been arrested in Florida. 
 
Your Social Security Number (SSN) is needed to keep records accurate because other people may have 
the same name and date of birth. Disclosure of your SSN is imperative for the performance of the 
Division of Licensing’s duties in distinguishing your identity from that of other persons whose 
identification information may be the same as or similar to yours. 
 
Licensing agencies are allowed to release a copy of the state and national criminal record information to a 
person who requests a copy of his or her own record if the identification of the record was based on 
submission of the person’s fingerprints. Therefore, if you wish to review your record, you may request 
that the Division of Licensing provide you with a copy. If, after you have reviewed the criminal history 
record, you believe it is either incomplete or inaccurate, you may conduct a personal review as provided 
in s. 943.056, F.S., and Rule 11C8.001, F.A.C. If you believe information received from the FBI is in 
error, you may contact the FBI at (304) 625-2000. You can receive any national criminal history record 
that may pertain to you directly from the FBI pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34. You have the 
right to obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of your challenge before a final decision is made 
about your status as licensee. 
 
The processing of your application for licensure may not be finalized until the criminal history 
background check is completed. 
 
The FBI’s Privacy Statement on the reverse side of this document contains additional information. 
 

https://16.30-16.34
https://16.30-16.34


US Department of Justice 
Federal Bureau of Investigation 
Criminal Justice Information Services Division 

PRIVACY STATEMENT 

-
Authority: The FBl's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of information requested by this form is 
generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental 
authorities include numerous Federal statutes, hundreds of State statutes pursuant to Pub.L. 92-544, 
Presidential executive orders, regulations and/or orders of the Attorney General of the United States, or 
other authorized authorities. Examples include, but are not limited to: 5 U.S.C. 9101; Pub.L. 94-29; 
Pub.L. 101-604; and Executive Orders 10450 and 12968. Providing the requested information is 
voluntary; however, failure to furnish the information may affect timely completion or approval of your 
application. 

Social Security Account Number (SSAN). Your SSAN is needed to keep records accurate because other 
people may have the same name and birth date. Pursuant to the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 USC 552a), 
the requesting agency is responsible for informing you whether disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by 
what statutory or other authority your SSAN is solicited, and what uses will be made of it. Executive 
Order 9397 also asks Federal agencies to use this number to help identify individuals in agency records. 

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, security, licensing, and adoption, may be 
predicated on fingerprint based checks. Your fingerprints and other information contained on (and along 
with) this form may be submitted to the requesting agency, the agency conducting the application 
investigation, and/or FBI for the purpose of comparing the submitted information to available records in 
order to identify other information that may be pertinent to the application. During the processing of this 
application, and for as long hereafter as may be relevant to the activity for which this application is being 
submitted, the FBI may disclose any potentially pertinent information to the requesting agency and/or 
to the agency conducting the investigation. The FBI may also retain the submitted information in the 
FBI's permanent collection of fingerprints and related information, where it will be subject to 
comparisons against other submissions received b y the FBI. Depending on the nature of your application, 
the requesting agency and/or the agency conducting the application investigation may also retain the 
fingerprints and other submitted information for other authorized purposes of such agency(ies). 

Routine Uses: The fingerprints and information r eported on this form may be disclosed pursuant to your 
consent, and may also be disclosed by the FBI without your consent as permitted by the Federal Privacy 
Act of 1974 (5 USC 552a(b )) and all applicable routine uses as may be published at any time in the Federal 
Register, including the routine uses for the FBI F ingerprint Identification Records System (Justice/FBl-
009) and the FBl's Blanket Routine Uses (Justice/FBI-BRU). Routine uses include, but are not limited to, 
disclosures to: appropriate governmental authorities r esponsible for civil or criminal law enforcement, 
counterintelligence, national security or public safety matters to which the information may be relevant; 
to State and local governmental agencies and nongovernmental entities for application processing as 
authorized by Federal and State legislation, executive order, or regulation, including employment, 
security, licensing, and adoption checks; and as otherwise authorized by law, t reaty, executive order, 
regulation, or other lawful authority. If other agencies are involved in processing this application, they 
may have additional routine uses. 

Additional Information: The requesting agency and/or the agency conducting the application 
investigation will provide you additional information pertinent to the specific circumstances of this 
application, which may include identification of other authorities, purposes, uses, and consequences of not 
providing requested information. In addition, any such agency in the Federal Executive Branch has also 
published noticein the Federal Register describing any system(s) of records in which that agency may also 
maintain your recor~ including the authorities, purposes, and routine uses for the system(s). 

1-789 (08-11-2010) 
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